Sunset in Ollantaytambo, Peru

Oh look, it’s November

Minnesota is so much farther north than anywhere else I’ve lived, which means not only that the winters are that much colder, but also that the sunrise/sunset times change that much more drastically. Seasons are huge here; fall is colorful and dramatic, and I surprised myself by enjoying getting out in the back yard to rake leaves. Something about embracing the change of seasons, not simply thinking of fall as that time when winter becomes inevitable, which has been my attitude as long as I can remember. This is the week before daylight savings time ends, when the sun rises around 8am. Several days a week I’ve been finishing practice around 7:30, which means it’s still dark-ish out when I’m done. Mysore-esque.

The last few months have been eventful (to downplay it a bit): Peter and I got married and went on a two-week honeymoon to Ecuador and Peru. I did a bit of writing on the trip, which I may post at some point, but let’s just say that the whole experience made me feel just how incredibly fortunate I am.

Since coming back home, life has returned to its normal rhythm. I’m teaching a little, and practicing a lot (the trick to those really great home practices is to leave yourself more time than you think you’ll need– practice is sweeter when it’s not rushed), and working at that yoga clothing store that everyone in the yoga blogosphere likes being snarky about, but is actually a baller place to work.

I’ll end with a few pictures from the wedding/honeymoon.

Basilica del Voto Nacional: Quito, Ecuador

This entry was published on November 2, 2012 at 7:43 am. It’s filed under Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

