30-Day Challenge, Days 2-4

How is the challenge going? So far, so good. I was a little ambitious, I think, because this daily practice of reading at least 50 pages and chanting for 20 minutes (and I’ve been following the chanting with 20 minutes of meditation) takes up quite a bit of time. The photo takes less time, of course, but I have to remember to do it. And already (because I’m fond of getting ahead of myself, clearly) I’ve started thinking about what my next 30-day challenges will be. Um, yeah. Let’s see if I can get through this one.

So. The progress. I’ve been chanting at different times of the day– I particularly like doing it before I teach, but I’ve just been fitting it in whenever I can. The basic structure is Yoga Sutras (first book only, for now), Shantih Mantras, Maha Ganesha Pancharatnam, and Guru Astakam.

As for reading, I finished The Tiger’s Wife by Tea Obreht, which I’d definitely recommend, and started Guruji by Guy Donahaye and Eddie Stern. Amazing so far, interviews with senior Ashtanga teachers who have known Guruji since the 70s. Pretty good timing, considering his birthday (and Guru Purnima) is celebrated this week, at the July full moon.

And here are the photos.

July 12: Shoreview Farmers' Market

July 13: New Brighton History Center Museum

July 14: Snacktime fun.

This entry was published on July 14, 2011 at 3:07 pm and is filed under 30Days. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “30-Day Challenge, Days 2-4

  1. Nice pictures, Ellie 🙂 Who is the cute kid in the last picture? Just curious.

    Since you are already a little ambitious, why not be even more ambitious, and including posting a picture (and maybe a few words too) on this blog everyday? 🙂 I’m actually being selfish here, since I enjoy blogging and reading blogs. Just a suggestion.

    • Thanks Nobel! Ha, I don’t think I can fool myself into thinking that I’ll be posting every day. But maaaaybe every other day… 🙂

      The cute kid is my nephew. He’s pretty awesome.

  2. Aw, Ryaaaaan

  3. Your nephew is adorable! I love seeing the photos…keep ’em coming!

    Guruji is such a great book and hopefully each little story is about 50 pages 🙂

  4. So ambitious! You are doing great!

Leave a Reply

