Spring Cleaning

They say everyone gets sick when they come to India. It’s just part of the experience, like coconuts or cockroaches. You hope for mild sickness rather than major, and take the usual precautions (use hand sanitizer, don’t drink the water, etc). But then you forget about it a bit, because the food here is beyond amazing and besides, worrying is not very sattvic, is it?

Long story short, on Monday morning, after a restful night’s sleep, I woke up a few minutes before my 5am alarm went off and sickness was there. All day, unable to leave the house, barely able to stand, obviously unable to eat and I will leave the rest of the symptoms undescribed, thank you. The whole thing lasted about 20 hours. Next day I was fine, stomach-wise, but tired, weak, light-headed and a little dehydrated. I dragged myself to practice, my roommate dragged me to lunch where I had some broth, and later I had a banana smoothie for dinner. And today, I’m good as new.

Here’s the interesting part: I was just reading Tim Miller’s blog, on the subject of the Vernal Equinox. The exact moment of the Vernal Equinox was Sunday at 4:21pm PDT, which translates to Monday at 4:51am Mysore time, the exact time my body decided it needed a little spring cleaning. Auspicious, maybe. So from this whole experience, I’ve learned the following:

1. If I’m going to be sick, I prefer to see it as meaningful, astrologically-speaking.

2. Nothing like a little Delhi belly to deepen your practice. Binding to the wrist in pasasana? No problem!

3. Accidentally drinking the water: 5 times faster than an Ayurvedic cleanse, at 0% of the price.

This entry was published on March 23, 2011 at 6:37 am and is filed under mysore. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Spring Cleaning

  1. claire on said:

    ahh point 3 made me laugh 🙂
    am enjoying your recollections, thanks 🙂
    claire

Leave a Reply

